A couple of sketches

Yesterday and today I did a couple of sketches.

Yesterday’s was of peppa as I wanted to send a card to a fellow guinea pig lover and I couldn’t find one to buy, so I decided to try drawing one. I also decided to try drawing from life rather than a photo. I had a false start as she decided to move part way through but then she settled to eat hay, so I started again and came up with this

I think she’s ended up a bit longer and thinner than in real life but she doesn’t look unlike her!

And then today we went on a year one trip to a farm. We spent half an hour sitting and drawing something we could see. I decided to join in (official rationale being it’s good for the kids to see grown ups choosing to do some of the things they are being asked to do…. Real reason being I don’t want to pass up a chance to sketch!).

This was the view I had

And this is my sketch

It was so relaxing to just really focus on the view and look at it in detail. Even though I didn’t manage to reproduce that, looking at the sketch again now! I’m not sure I’ve really sketched landscapes before but maybe I’ll do that à bit more in the future

12 thoughts on “A couple of sketches”

  1. These are lovely! Peppa adorable, and the landscape reminds me of when I went to that island I love, and as a souvenir made my own sketch (and then wrote about the experience). I love trying to draw something because it makes me really look at it, absorb it, and enter the creative zone.

    Like

    1. Oh… I’ve never learnt how to sketch… I just have a go!! It was nice to have the time for it yesterday on the trip… You do have to set aside a chunk of time to really focus 😊. There’s also just so many other great things to do… I find it hard to decide which craft to do, then get overwhelmed by the choice and end up not doing any 🤔

      Like

Leave a comment