Patchwork

Today I got to try something new. I don’t do sewing and i don’t do ironing but today i did lots of both as I hand sewed the patchwork part of a quilted cushion cover!

A lovely lady from my church ran a quilting workshop today to teach some of us how to quilt. Sue had given me and Mark a patchwork quilt that she had made for our wedding and every morning I admire the amount of work that went into it.

wp-image-666403285jpg.jpg

Having started the blog I thought this was a good opportunity to try something new, even though I assumed it would be something of a disaster and that I wouldn’t really enjoy it!

Positive attitude in hand (though looking forward to seeing people!) i headed off to church and chose from a lovely selection of different coloured materials that sue had provided.

Funnily enough I actually enjoyed ironing my choice of materials. Normally I add more creases than I remove but ironing a flat, single-layer item seemed to work better!IMAG0677

Then I started cutting my squares.

Three  squares each of my 3 colours. Each square was 4 and a half inches ,and then I played around with the order of squares until I found a pattern I liked .

IMAG0680

Then the sewing  started, but it was strangely relaxing. Folding  my squares onto each other with right sides touching each other i drew a quarter inch line as a sewing guide. I then back stitched along it and did the same for different pairs until I had 3 rows of squares.IMAG0681

I pressed the seams so they would lie flat behind the darkest square and then sue showed me how to lock the seams together and attach the rows to each other. It was nostalgic as I got to use the coloured pins I’d had in my wedding bouquet to hold the seams together.

I was really proud of my square and was keen to move on with adding the border (so keen I forgot to take photos!). So I cut strips that were 2 and a half inches wide and started sewing  these on, short edges first and longer edges after. Other people were stopping for lunch but I was impatient to finish. Unfortunately that shows in how much more visible my stitching is on the edge pieces. My sewing kit is not very extensive so i was  using my only pure cotton thread, which is white, and which shows up rather dramatically when you  look closer.IMAG0686

IMAG0687IMAG0688IMAG0689IMAG0690

I am really proud of this though, and that I sewed it by hand. I’m surprised by how much I enjoyed it, and my sense of achievement is huge. I was so excited I was bouncing around the church hall as I completed different  parts. And far from thinking this would be the one and only time I’d do this sort of thing I’m already thinking of what else I could make with patchwork!

Thank you sue for being a patient and great teacher and for sharing my excitement. I’m looking forward to adding wadding and backing to quilt it.

P. S. Here’s a photo of the underneath as promised in the comments

IMAG0693

3 thoughts on “Patchwork”

Leave a Reply

